Ohio lawmakers are considering a law banning drivers from smoking if there’s a passenger in the car under the age of 6 (Source: “Ohio may ban smoking in cars with young children,” Dayton Daily News, March 19, 2019).
Senate Bill 78, sponsored by state Sen. Tina Maharath, D-Canal Winchester, proposes a $500 fine for violators of the law, and for subsequent violations be fined $500 plus $250 for each additional violation.
The bill has been referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee. Similar bills have been considered in prior legislative sessions. The law has been promoted to protect children from the health consequences of second-hand smoke, which can lead to asthma, ear infections and other health problems.
Ohio has a poor record when it comes to children exposed to the health risks of secondhand smoke. Ohio ranked 49th on the percentage of children who live in a home where someone uses tobacco and smokes inside the home, according to the Health Policy Institute of Ohio’s 2017 Health Value Dashboard. The 2019 Health Value Dashboard is set to be released early next month.